Emergency Management

Emergencies can strike at any time. In Central Kootenay, the three most likely emergencies to occur are forest fires, floods, and hazardous materials spills.

Protecting public safety is the priority of government. When emergencies occur, several agencies must work together to assist people with evacuation and access to shelter, clean water and food. Municipalities and regional districts have emergency plans in place to protect their citizens. The Province assists local government in being prepared before disaster strikes and will activate the provincial emergency management structure to support local emergency operations centres during emergencies.

When required, an Emergency Operations Centre (EOC) will be opened by the RDCK to support the emergency or disaster. An EOC is responsible for various duties such as declaring a state of local emergency, coordinating multiple agencies, providing media releases and managing evacuees.

The RDCK has prepared Emergency Response Plans for seven areas: Creston and Electoral Areas A, B and C; Salmo and Electoral Area G; Nakusp and Electoral Area K; Electoral Area H-The Slocan Valley, and Nelson and Electoral Areas E and F, Kaslo and Electoral Area D and Electoral Areas I and J. 

Learn more about the RDCK's Emergency Management Program:

How to reach us:

Chris Johnson
Emergency Program Manager, RDCK
333 Victoria St, Suite 103
Nelson, BC  V1L 4K3
Ph: 250-352-1530 Fax: 352-9300

Alanna Garrett
Emergency Program Coordinator
Creston and Areas A, B and C 
Salmo & Area G
531B - 16th Avenue South 
Creston BC V0B 1G5
Ph: 250-428-0299 Fax: 428-3408
Cell: 250-254-8255

Terry Warren
Emergency Program Coordinator
Slocan Valley and Area H
Nakusp and Area K
PO Box 243 Nakusp BC V0G 1R0
Cell: 250-265-1920 Fax: 250-265-3571
Office: 250-265-0230

Steph Coutu
Administrative Assistant, Emergency Management
333 Victoria St, Suite 103
Nelson, BC  V1L 4K3
Ph: 250-352-1539 Fax: 352-9300

The content on this page was last updated April 17 2019 at 1:54 PM