WKBR Hospital District

Welcome to the webpage for the West Kootenay-Boundary Regional Hospital District (WKBRHD).
Here you will find information about the following:


Hospital districts are legislated under the Hospital District Act.

The main purpose of the WKBRHD is to provide funding for hospital equipment and capital projects. Projects and priorities are proposed each year by the Interior Health Authority (IHA), with a list developed in consultation between the IHA and WKBRHD. The hospital district typically pays for 40% of the cost of approved projects while the remaining 60% is funded by the Provincial Government or through donations provided by local hospital foundations.

For more information on programs and services offered by Interior Health, please visit the Interior Health website at www.interiorhealth.ca

Mission Statement

That the West Kootenay-Boundary Regional Hospital District Board of Directors’ mission is to determine local property taxpayers’ responsibility for health care matters established by the Hospital District Act within the West Kootenay-Boundary Regional Hospital District’s authority.


The West Kootenay-Boundary Regional Hospital District (WKBRHD) is a separate entity from the Regional District of Central Kootenay. The hospital district board is comprised of 17 RDCK directors and 13 Regional District of Kootenay-Boundary directors:

Central Kootenay:

Area A: Garry Jackman
Area D: Aimee Watson
Area E: Ramona Faust
Area F: Tom Newell
Area G: Hans Cunningham
Area H: Walter Popoff
Area I: Andy Davidoff
Area J: Rick Smith
Area K: Paul Peterson
Castlegar: Bruno Tassone
Kaslo: Suzan Hewat
Nakusp: Joseph Hughes
Nelson: Janice Morrison
New Denver: Colin Moss
Salmo: Diana Lockwood
Silverton: Leah Main
Slocan: Jessica Lunn

Kootenay Boundary:

Area A: Ali Grieve
Area B: Linda Worley
Area C: Grace McGregor
Area D: Roly Russell
Area E: Vicki Gee
Fruitvale: Bill Wenman
Grand Forks: Brian Taylor
Greenwood: Jim Nathorst
Midway: Fred Grouette
Montrose: Mike Walsh
Rossland: Kathy Moore
Trail: Lisa Pasin
Warfield: Arlene Parkinson

Board Chair: Aimee Watson
Board Acting Chair: Leah Main


WKBRHD Board Meetings will be held at 6:00 pm at the Castlegar and District Community Complex on the following dates:
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Board Agendas and Minutes

To view agendas and minutes, click on the below:

Meeting Date



January 23, 2019



August 22, 2018



March 28, 2018



February 28, 2018



November 22, 2017



October 25, 2017



June 28, 2017



February 22, 2017



January 25, 2017




If you would like to view Agendas, Minutes and Newsletters for years prior to 2017 please submit your request to info@rdck.bc.ca.


Do you or an organization wish to make a presentation to the WKBRHD Board?
If so, please consult the Delegation Policy.

To request to appear before the Board, please fill out and submit the Delegates Request.

The content on this page was last updated February 14 2019 at 1:55 PM