

# **Board Highlights**

November 17, 2022

## New Board of Directors officially sworn in

The RDCK Board of Directors officially took office at the inaugural Board meeting on November 17 marking the beginning of the 2022-2026 electoral term.



**Pictured Back Row L-R:** Jessica Lunn, Garry Jackman, Keith Page, Aidan McLaren-Caux, Diana Lockwood, Aimee Watson, Arnold DeBoon, Cheryl Graham, Leonard Casley & Hans Cunningham. **Front Row L-R:** Maria McFaddin, Roger Tierney, Kelly Vandenberghe, Teresa Weatherhead, Suzan Hewat, Walter Popoff & Colin Ferguson.

Missing - Tom Newell, Andy Davidoff & Henny Hanegraaf

#### **Electoral Area Directors**

Electoral Area A – Garry Jackman

Electoral Area B – Roger Tierney

Electoral Area C – Kelly Vandenberghe

Electoral Area D – Aimee Watson

Electoral Area E - Cheryl Graham

Electoral Area F - Tom Newell

Electoral Area G - Hans Cunningham

Electoral Area H – Walter Popoff

Electoral Area I – Andy Davidoff

Electoral Area J – Henny Hanegraaf

Electoral Area K – Teresa Weatherhead

#### **Municipal Directors**

City of Castlegar - Maria McFaddin

Town of Creston – Arnold DeBoon

Village of Kaslo – Suzan Hewat

Village of Nakusp – Aidan McLaren-Caux

City of Nelson - Keith Page

Village of New Denver – Leonard Casley

Village of Salmo - Diana Lockwood

Village of Silverton – Colin Ferguson

Village of Slocan - Jessica Lunn

## **Chair and Vice-Chair elected by Board of Directors**



Electoral Area D Director Aimee Watson was elected Board Chair for 2023. Chair Watson has served as the RDCK Area D Director since 2014 and enters her fifth term as Chair.

As well, the RDCK Board elected Village of Salmo Mayor and RDCK Director Diana Lockwood as Vice-Chair for 2023. Lockwood has served as a RDCK Director since 2018 and begins her first term as Vice-Chair.

The Board Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually by the Board of Directors and serve a one-year term.

Pictured L-R: Vice Chair Diana Lockwood & Chair Aimee Watson

#### Aimee Watson nominated to remain on Columbia Basin Trust Board of Directors

The Board has nominated Director Aimee Watson to continue as the RDCK representative on the Columbia Basin Trust Board of Directors for a two-year term. Originally appointed to the Board in January 2021, Director Watson can serve a maximum of six years on The Trust Board. The Trust is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors. The five regional districts in the Basin and Ktunaxa Nation Council each nominate a director, and the Province of BC nominates the remaining six Directors.

#### **Economic Trust of the Southern Interior BC**

The Board appointed Village of Salmo Mayor and RDCK Director Diana Lockwood, Village of Slocan Mayor and RDCK Director Jessica Lunn, and Electoral Area H Director Walter Popoff to the Economic Trust of the Southern Interior BC (ETSI). Village of Nakusp Councillor and RDCK Director Aidan McLaren-Caux was appointed alternate. ETSI contributes to economic growth and diversity in the Southern Interior of BC by building the region's economic development capacity, assisting partners as they support local businesses, encourage entrepreneurship and the creation of meaningful jobs, and provide support to key sectors of our region's economy to innovate and be more sustainable. All Directors are appointed for a two-year term expiring December 31, 2024.

## **Nelson to Castlegar active transportation corridor feasibility**

The Board approved two agreements related to a feasibility study for a proposed active transportation corridor between Nelson and Castlegar. The proposed 45 km route would pass through five electoral areas, connecting two municipalities, parks, college campuses, schools, places of employment, goods and services, and various neighbourhoods.

The first agreement is between Infrastructure Canada's Active Transportation Fund (ATF) and the RDCK to fund the project. The RDCK successfully applied for a grant on behalf of the West Kootenay Cycling Coalition (WKCC), receiving \$50,000 for eligible costs to support the project.

The second agreement is between the RDCK and WKCC. The RDCK will administer the funding, while the WKCC will be responsible for delivering the project.

## 2023 Wildfire Mitigation & FireSmart Program

The Board direct staff to apply to the 2023 Union of BC Municipalities Community Resiliency Investment Program intake to coordinate and manage grant funding with the RDCK in order to operate the Wildfire Mitigation and FireSmart Program in 2023. The grant request is for \$750,000 and these funds will be used to:

- Hire six Wildfire Mitigation Specialists and one FIreSmart Coordinator
- Offer and administer a FireSmart rebate program to residential properties that have had a FireSmart Assessment and have begun mitigation
- Offer and administer monetary support to neighbourhoods pursuing Neighbourhood Recognition
- Bolster educational activities promoting FireSmart

The Board also committed \$20,000 to the 2023 Wildfire Mitigation and FireSmart Program.

## **RDCK Quarterly Report**

The Board received the 2022 Q3 Quarterly Report which details the current projects and initiatives of the RDCK. Please <u>follow the link</u> to the most recent RDCK Quarterly Report.

# **Director's Reports**

RDCK Directors provide monthly reports explaining what they have been working on. <u>Click here</u> to read the November reports in the Board minutes (agenda item 10.5, pg.136).

# **Discretionary Grants**

#### AREA A

Creston Valley Quilters Guild – Hall Rental Expenses	\$750
Riondel Boat Club – Riondel Marina West Wall Replacement	\$4,647
Creston Valley Ministerial Association – Christmas Hampers	\$1,000
AREA B Creston Valley Ministerial Association – Christmas Hampers Ktunaxa Kinbasket Child and Family Services – Christmas Hampers for Community Kitchener Valley Recreation and Fire Protection Society	\$1,000 \$2,000 \$1,500
AREA C Creston Valley Ministerial Association – Christmas Hampers	\$1.000

AREA E Nelson Skating Club – West Kootenay Invitational	\$200
AREA F  Nelson Skating Club – West Kootenay Invitational  Nelson Circus Performers Association – Flow Jamz	\$500 \$500
AREA G Salmo Child Care Society – Fencing Cost – Yard Expansion Salmo Emergency Support Services Team – Salmo ESS Development	\$4,999.99 \$800
AREA H Nelson Skating Club – West Kootenay Invitational	\$200
AREA I Ministry of Forests – Goose Creek Fire Department Social Club – Snowmobile Christmas Social	\$500 \$3,000
Community Development Grants	
AREA A South Kootenay Lake Community Service Society – Women's Networking Event	\$3,375
AREA B Canyon Community Association – Christmas Event	\$1,000
AREA E  RDCK Recreation Commission No. 10 – Recreation 10 2022 Funding  Procter Community Society – Procter Hall Warming/Cooling Centres	\$20,000 \$7,500
AREA H Slocan Park Community Hall Society – Slocan Park Seniors Program WE Graham Community Services Society – Holiday Hampers Slocan Valley Snowmobile Association – Trail Groomer Snowcat Purchase	\$5,000 \$4,000 \$5,000
AREA I Kinnaird Park Community Church – International Cultural Festival – Castlegar Refugee Project	\$606.31
KASLO Kaslo Racquet Club – KRC Facility Upgrade	\$10,000
SLOCAN VILLAGE Slocan – Legion Hall Security Slocan – Saturday Market	\$600 \$2,000

# Recreation Commission No. 10 - Area F

Balfour Recreation Commission	\$926
Balfour Senior Citizens Association Branch No. 120	\$1,109
Nelson Reflections Artistic Swimming	\$1,000
Procter Community Society	\$1,000
Redfish Elementary School Parent Advisory Committee	\$1,500